What's new
What's new

Hole Popper - Canned cycle, holes coming out different depth

TClark

Plastic
I'm brand new to EDM hole drilling. My machines are imported by Belmont from Taiwan- they are Yan Yang brand SY series. I'm drilling 6 holes using a canned cycle & the depth is coming out +/- .100". I haven't spotted any pattern yet like getting progressively shallower/deeper or 5th hole always deeper, etc.

The documentation is fair, but I can't tell from the manual how hole depth is being adjusted to compensate for electrode wear. That seems like a possible cause, but may be totally wrong.

Any ideas on possible other causes or explanation of how electrode wear is accounted for are greatly appreciated!

How deep are you drilling? Are you using a new electrode for each hole? Graphite tube? My experience is electrode wear is not consistent enough to get a repeatable accurate depth on a hole popper. We use our CNC sinker if accurate depth is needed.

Drilling about .5" deep, .019 dia. I'm not changing electrode between holes - it's a production job. Electrode is a brass tube. The depth is not super critical, I'm just thinking that somewhat better accuracy is possible.

Thanks

Doesn`t the machine re-zero Z on each start up as soon as trode contacts top of part? I know the Current brands do this, should be alot closer than .100 on .500 deep I would think.

Hi TClark:
I'll bet part of your problem is coming from the end condition of your trode whan you start the new hole.
Poppers set the spark energy aggressively compared to normal sinkers, so the trode tip normally wears fast but reasonably symmetrically and reasonably flat.