What's new
What's new

How to connect Sodick Seikanet machine to network share?

kukhuvud

Plastic
Hi there! First time poster. I work in IT at a company that has a ton of Sodick machines that write data to a network share and everything works ok.

I've set up a new network share on newer, faster storage and want to get the Sodicks to write there. What's the trick to configure the Sodicks to use the new share? It appears that there's some voodoo with them looking for a NCPROHD folder and/or a 3D_DATA folder, but I can't locate any documentation or instructions on what precisely to do. And, of course, the person who set these machines up is long gone.

I did find the part in the Seikanet gui where I can enter the ip address, user name, and password. And when I populate these fields and then go back to the file browser sort of screen and click "refresh network" the new ip address shows up. But when I click the new ip address I get an access denied error. I am able to map a drive to the new share in the embedded Windows, so communications and ACL's are functioning properly.

Can anyone here help? Thank you :)

Seika Net Setup

Good Morning.
I noticed you have a setup sheet for the Sodick Seika Net. We have the machine and pc connected but I cannot access files on the sodick as there looks like a permission problem.
Sodick helpline are not coming up with the answer.

Cheers

amazing I found this thread. Seems the setup is not all that simple. I too and having a permission issue trying to connect to the machine. I can ping it, see it on the network, I am just always denied access when trying to connect to it. The book is poorly documented. I attempted to put in users and passwords, but still no success.

Would you be willing to email me that pdf as well?
Thanks a bunch!

Let me try to help.

First, newer microsoft shares are very very difficult to access and debug, and may be impossible to integrate with machine tools, easily.