What's new
What's new

How do you calculate your machine rate?

Leviathan

Aluminum
Hi all,

We recently added sinker EDM to our machine shop capabilities, mostly because we do a lot of one off repair and/or reverse engineering work. We bought a used CNC sinker with a C-Axis which gives us a lot of options as far as what we can do. And I am finally getting my head around the process and able to actually use the machine for real work. (I was having trouble nailing sizes but thanks to the people here I have that mostly sorted now).

My question now is what should sinker EDM work cost? And how do you decide? I don't really want to be the guy that asks the "what do you charge" question but I am at a total loss in this case. I have zero experience working in an EDM shop or quoting EDM work. All I really know at this point is "it's not cheap".

Between time to make the trodes and the actual sinking time it's just really slow. We bought the machine planning to mostly run unattended during the day and overnight as much as possible, so it's not like there is a lot of labour beyond setup. Also we got the machine fairly inexpensive so not a lot of capital overhead. But even small features take 2-6 hours minimum (assuming decent finish). Add to that 1-2hrs to make a couple simple trodes and setup the machine puts me at a minimum of 6hrs for a single feature. Often a lot more.

So what is reasonable? I can't imagine charging full shop rate for EDM run time, but the trode machining and machine setup needs to be...otherwise we might as well run other machines.

Right now I just take a guess at the labour cost portion and a token charge for the EDM run time. I'm still learning after all. But that is not sustainable long term. Trying to figure out a fair market value.

Thanks in advance.

Levi

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk