What's new
What's new

Looking for a new ram edm

G-Auto

Hot Rolled
We do wire edm but not ram. I am looking for a new machine to do certain slots in hardened tooling we use in our production process. I dont know much about ram. Key things are accuracy, ease of set up and good support. Currently I have Mitsubishi and Makino wires.

What does the hive suggest?

Hi G-Auto:
My vote goes to Makino if you need extreme precision especially on super tiny stuff.

My vote goes to one of the Sodick linear motor machines if you are doing more conventional burning on conventionally sized workpieces.

Cheers
Marcus
Implant Mechanix • Design & Innovation > HOME
Vancouver Wire EDM -- Wire EDM Machining

Ugh. I was afraid I would get that advice. We are not happy at ALL with Makino and I swore I would never buy another. Any experience with the Mitsubishi EDMs?

Hi G_Auto:
Now that's very interesting...I have no personal experience with either machine, but I have buddies who own them and have only good things to say.
I've subbed out work to them in the past and they did superb work for me on those machines...far better than I could have done on my Hansvedt.

Makino is known for extreme precision small sinkers...it's a big part of their brand.
I did a tiny mold once upon a time with features in the 0.010" range and with tolerances in the 0.0002" range, and the Makino guy was brilliant.
Everything was dead nuts accurate and beautifully burned...I was sooo envious of that guy's machine!

Sodick is the original linear motor sinker company...I did a job once (another mold) that used electrodes you could not put flushing holes in...no way, no how.
A "state of the art" Agie couldn't reliably burn these features, but the Sodick could, and it was the ram speed that did the trick: jump flushing this ridiculously complicated trode with ribs all over it, no sweat at all.