What's new
What's new

Makino sp43

mignoffo

Plastic
Hey all.

I have a Makino sp43, have been running it for several years, purchased used.

I have had little problems when it comes to machining with this machine until now. Two problems:

1.) Tapers have suddenly become slightly inaccurate. Seems like I need to adjust the "Z" of the machine or something similar. I have no idea how to adjust z axis or table height in this machine. I do not have a jig and the machine has been extremely accurate up until now. I can only relate to Charmilles which I have been running for 25 years where the machine Z is automatically picked up in a jig by the machine doing a routine of touches at a specified angle/taper. Anything like this for my sp43?

2.) Well, slow. Can't get the machine to cut at an appropriate speed. In the past as contacts wear, I rotate and clean and that pretty much takes care of it. Now, wire breaks occur on the most conservative of push and speeds are probably in the 50% range. Wondering if power cables need to be looked at or?

TIA
'

Matt

Hi mignoffo:
You have a fairly long diagnostic road ahead of you to get to the bottom of what's wrong.
The way forward is to methodically evaluate and correct all of the things that are easy to address so you c an take them off the table immediately.

So start with the simple things first.
Are your power contacts good?
Is your water good?
Are your discharge cables good?
etc etc.

Once you've eliminated all that really basic maintenance stuff, you can get deeper into diagnostic stuff if it's still not working correctly.
If you like electronic diagnosis and are good at it, you can take a stab at it, but without schematics, you'll have a hard road, so I personally would bite the bitter pill and bring in a factory tech, pay what it costs and get it solved.

But do all the basic maintenance first so you can be sure it's not something super simple.