What's new
What's new

Newbie looking for advice - WEDM

Ishira

Plastic
So I'm relatively new to wire EDM, having been training in my position for less than 6 months. My shop is a precision machining, and I EDM PDC, steel, and carbide.

We have on hand currently a Charmilles Robofil 200, a Fanuc Robocut a-1c, a Fanuc Robocut a-0c, a Fanuc Robocut a-C600iA, and two Agiecut DEM-315s. The Agies are only used to cut PDC and CBN pucks.

I am interested in any and all information that can be given to me about WEDM in general, EDMing the materials listed above, and tips about the machines listed above.

My trainer is decently knowledgeable in this field but lacks on the details sometimes, so I've turned to locating forums and scientific papers to help understand fundamentals and such.

I can answer more in-depth questions if needed about my situation as well.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Ishira:
Probably the best and smartest EDM resource out there right now is Bud Guitrau.
He has written extensively on the subject in magazine articles and he has written an excellent book too.

A quick Google search will get you hooked up to some of his publications.
He is also an occasional contributor here, so do a search for his name on here too.

Another guy (seemingly from a previous generation) is Ed Huntress...Google him as well.

Last, dive into Practical Machinist...there is a wealth of information here too.

Cheers

Marcus
Implant Mechanix • Design & Innovation > HOME
Vancouver Wire EDM -- Wire EDM Machining

Check out EDM Today magazine as well (you can read past issues on their website).

If the manuals are around - Read Them! While the Fanuc and Charmilles books are a little dry, they're still a great resource for getting your head around some of the nuances of the systems that your mentor might not know or doesn't think you're ready for yet.