What's new
What's new

Not getting a square corner

wishin4snow

Plastic
Hey guys. I'm still pretty new to the EDM world. I am running a program that we have always ran on our Mitsubishi DWC-90 WEDM. I noticed that the corners are not square even though the program has a square corner. I'm not talking about the wire radius either. If you look at the pictures, there is almost a radius on one side of the corner. The part is copper and 1.234" thick. I know this is how the parts have always been ran because I looked at a part in stock.

My question is how can I get a straighter corner? Do you program a slower speed?

Thanks for any help.
IMG_20200302_064821.jpgIMG_20200302_064830.jpg

Hey guys. I'm still pretty new to the EDM world. I am running a program that we have always ran on our Mitsubishi DWC-90 WEDM. I noticed that the corners are not square even though the program has a square corner. I'm not talking about the wire radius either. If you look at the pictures, there is almost a radius on one side of the corner. The part is copper and 1.234" thick. I know this is how the parts have always been ran because I looked at a part in stock.

My question is how can I get a straighter corner? Do you program a slower speed?

Thanks for any help.
View attachment 280596View attachment 280597

On these older machines you will need to "manually" implement some corner control. Assuming your program does not have corner radii (sharp- line to line), add a G04X2.0 (dwell- 2 sec) at the corner transition on the rough pass. You can adjust the dwell time to tweak it in. Alternating path direction (CCW/ CW) on your skim passes will also help the form of the corners.

Thanks for any help.
View attachment 280596View attachment 280597