What's new
What's new

Off by a Mile

AGMantz

Aluminum
I'm currently attempting to wire out some ID inserts, 6 to be exact. I wired out the first one and felt like it went smooth, sent it over to our toolmaker to check dimensions and such and to my surprise I somehow managed to mess it up pretty bad. The insert is 3.181 in. long with a hole in the center with a radius of .129. Which means from the center of the hole to the edge it should be about 1.59 inches on both sides. I somehow managed to be out .040 in one direction which is just unimaginable in WEDM. Horizontally I was spot on so that rules out the work piece shifting during cutting. I'm at a complete loss for what possibly could have caused such a huge disparity. If any WEDM gurus out there have any ideas on what could have caused this please share your thoughts.

I'm very new to WEDM so don't have a lot knowledge or experience under my belt. I'm using a Mits MV4800 as my machine and ESPRIT for programming. Only two months in and I already feel like I'm going to lose my mind.:crazy:

-AGMantz

They gave me .19 diameter start holes so I am just doing a center pick up with the wire.

Last edited by a moderator:
Check to make sure the holes are straight...if they are slanted your pickup will be off.

One way to check is pick up normal, zero out, then set the pickup to run 45° from what you just did. The numbers should be within tenths if the hole is straight.

Just checked all the start holes including the one I already cut from all of them were within a tenth so that can't be the problem. Thanks for the tip I'll be checking all my start holes from now on just to be safe.

I'd start by looking in ESPRIT - is the start point of your program at the center of the start holes, or is one of them set at 1mm?
If you pick up the center of your hole and hit START without moving to that position, you won't get the results you hoped for.