What's new
What's new

Small Hole EDM Tips

shortbusdriver

Plastic
I just purchased a new Yougar small hold edm. I am completely new to the EDM game. Most of the holes I wanted to burn are in the .009" - .016" range and are chasing a slightly smaller hole that is around a .040" deep through hole.

I am having trouble with these smaller holes. Here are some of the problems I have:

Through hole in electrode will close off
Electrode will "burn" in the middle (between the guide and the chuck)
Wont burn through (guessing from one or both of the previous)
Leaves slag on the outside of hole

Machine does have a soft start. Using brass electrodes on a somewhat similar material to tool steel. They are fuel injector nozzles for diesels.

Tech guy that set it up couldn't even get the thing to work properly on the smaller holes. It will do ok on the larger holes.

Looking for any tips

Hi shortbusdriver:
You say your holes are not into the solid but are into pre-existing through holes that need to be opened up.
I believe that this is the root cause of your problem; you have no flushing pressure because the water is just pissing through the existing hole, so there is nothing to flush the burn and it stalls with all of what you describe as a result.

Also: you say these are diesel fuel injector bores...do they not have to be super precision holes?
You have what looks to be a standard hole popper which is really not designed for this purpose unless the Yougar website is totally misleading.

Were you sold the machine with the promise that it could do this kind of work?
Did they offer a drilled sample as proof it would work?
Did you see the spec where these machines claim to be good only down to 0.3 mm (0.012") diameter?

To see what is considered to be the normal standard for this sort of work, visit the Sarix or Makino websites.