What's new
What's new

Sodick wire EDM programming questions

M. Roberts

Cast Iron
Guys,

I have a 2003 vintage Sodick AQ 750l wire EDM machine. I have a job that measures roughly 13.625"l x 5.375"w x 0.511" thick. I will do my best to explain...Along one of the 13" edges, and one end of the part, and around a radiused corner, there is a 45 degree cut...the other 13" edge has a 42 degree bevel. My questions:
1) Is it just as simple as using a G52 A45 command, making the three cuts (looking at the part from the top, long axis in the Y direction, beveled edges facing up)?

2) for the second long cut, kick the head out to 42 degrees, and make that cut?

My issue, is the part has different vertical components (straight sections before the angle)....for the 45 degree, the TP is .2579", and for the 42 degree angle, the TP is 0.0595"....I'm guessing that somewhere I need to change the TP number...I guess that you can tell that I have never done this before...

Thanks,
Mark

Theoretically.....

Set your table to program (TP) to the botton of the part where the bevels share a common plane.

Then set your table to next to the height of the top of the part, regardless of where the chamfer is.

Then "theoretically" it should produce the cut you need.

The limited amount of taper cutting we have done with our AG600L machines we have programmed everything thru mastercam.

Guys,

I have a 2003 vintage Sodick AQ 750l wire EDM machine. I have a job that measures roughly 13.625"l x 5.375"w x 0.511" thick. I will do my best to explain...Along one of the 13" edges, and one end of the part, and around a radiused corner, there is a 45 degree cut...the other 13" edge has a 42 degree bevel. My questions:
1) Is it just as simple as using a G52 A45 command, making the three cuts (looking at the part from the top, long axis in the Y direction, beveled edges facing up)?