What's new
What's new

Which WEDM would you choose... 2010 Sodick VZ300L or 2012 Charmilles Cut200mS ?

Milacron

Administrator
Staff member
Both smaller machines with about 6,000 hours. Both about $50,000.

Is one less likely to have errors than the other ? Which company is better for phone troubleshooting ? Parts prices ?

Or is Fanuc the king of smaller WEDM's ?

I've always liked Sodicks. Support here in Los Angeles is good, there's several people that are all about these machines. Actually, I have a VL600Q on order right now to replace our AP500 machine.

Both smaller machines with about 6,000 hours. Both about $50,000.

Is one less likely to have errors than the other ? Which company is better for phone troubleshooting ? Parts prices ?

Im bias but Sodick in my opinion.

I've been running a Sodick Wire EDM since 2008 (AQ537L Premium), always has been reliable and tech support has always been great. The Service Dept. has always been easy to work with, although machine hasn't required much service over the past 12 yrs (just hit 17,000 cutting hrs) other than your consumables, which aren't crazy expensive. The machine is also still very accurate well past Sodicks 10yr position guarantee. Changing settings and parameters through out the flag/setting pages is also very easy and setting up for 4 axis machining is simple.

The general consensus is the uk is that +GF+ are quick to sell you machines and good prices but fuck will they help you when they break.

Brand new charmilles I used to run had software crashes on a weekly basis and all they could offer was to reload the same software over and over...

My new company has a suite of sodick, needed to make a call about an trivial issue and got a call back in 30 minutes.