What's new
What's new

Aluminum Welds (Pics 2nd Try)

Metal Slave

Hot Rolled
This is something my dad welded a couple of days ago.
I have always admired his ability to weld & have been especially fond of the way he welds aluminum.
Does this kick butt or what?

AlumWeld3.jpg

AlumWeld2.jpg

AlumWeld.jpg

Thought someone might appreciate those pics.
Do they work now?

[ 09-23-2005, 02:11 PM: Message edited by: TruPo ]

Trupo,
That was fantastic. Is your dad a professional welder or he is doing it for fun? What kind of welding machine does he use ? I am a beginner and welds like that I saw in welding textbooks

Khanh

Khanh-
I'm guessing he's been doing this about 40+ years now.I know he's been welding since a teenager & he's 58 so whatever that figures out to be.Fun,,,I doubt it!It really messes him up these days when he welds for long periods of time,mainly TIG welding.I guess the gas comes up underneath the hood & it's something you can't help but breathe.But he still takes pride in it & he also takes pride in teaching others what he knows.

As for a welder he has a couple but one I know is a Miller Sync 250

Those are very nice! You know the welding bug has bit ya when you look at the welds on everything from heavy equipment to to car frames. I go around looking at welds on everything.
Chris

Those are textbook welds, no doubt about it. Washed in, symetrical and even. Your father is indeed a professional. Hats off !!!! Good pics too. Thanks for posting.

John

TruPo, I have welded and seen miles of aluminum tig and your dad is quite talented. If you have an intrerest in welding, you have a golden opertunity to learn from a great welder, take advantage of it.

BTW, does your dad also DC weld aluminum?
(probably does)
Jim,,,