What's new
What's new

Any tips for a surefire way to MIG (FCAW) thin metal welding ?

grumpy.i.m

Plastic
A question from hobbyst, so please be lenient.

I am trying to learn how to MIG weld. Actually
FCAW, as I am using flex core wire and do not
have gas connected. I've been watching Youtube
videos, and that helped quite a lot, but still
can't nail the settings / technique to not blow
holes in thin metal.

Decreasing power only works to some point below
which can't make a clean weld.

I already worked out settings for 1.2 mm thick
metal sheet that give acceptable results most
of the time, but still manage to blow through
and have a hard time fixing it. Btw, any easy
way to fix a hole in but weld ?

What is safest torch angle to start to avoid
burning the hole through ?

I am using 0.8mm flux core wire on MIG 350
amp welder which can only adjust voltage and
wire speed.

Any helpful answers will be appreciated.

I'm not an expert with mig, but I do have quite a bit of experience on thicker steel. 1.2 mm is about the thickness of automobile sheet metal. That is typically welded by spot welding with mig about 1 inch (25mm) on center. Then spot weld half way between spots and continue until you have touching spots.
Welding continuous will typically burn through or be too cold.
If you are just learning mig I would work with steel about 3 to 6 mm thick until you get some experience.

Hook up the gas fitting, use 100% CO2.
.023 solid wire.

Good way to go. I have a Miller 252. I run 100% CO2 with an occasional dab of weld gel. It gives nice welds and it's relatively inexpensive - about half the price of Argon-CO2.

I also agree with the spot-welding technique for thin sheet metal. It's often done that way initially in body shops when replacing floors and filling in panels. Once the weld area is filled in they grind to finish up.

You do have your polarity correct, right? Fluxcore requires the reverse of hardwire MIG. MIG -> DCEP and FCAW -> DCEN.