What's new
What's new

Best Laser Technology for Engraving Paint on Backlit Display Panels?

goldenfab

Cast Iron
[FONT=&quot]What is the best laser technology to engrave paint? CO2 or Fiber? I'm a machinist and do prototype and design work but I have never used a laser. A while back I made some display panels for a customer like show in the picture below. I outsourced the laser work. Was hoping for a big order but only ended up doing the prototyping. The panel is backlit and is made from acrylic that has been painted white, then black, and finally laser engraving to expose the white.
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]From what I have read Fiber is not suitable for acrylic but I don't actually need to engrave acrylic, just the black paint to expose the white paint layer. I hear Galvo units are much faster but how does the quality of the engraved area compare? I'm looking at doing about 500 panels a year similar to the one in the picture. Overall size will be around 3" x 6" (engraved area will be less). I'm a one man shop.
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Should I go fiber or CO2? Glavo or gantry type? What wattage? Is fiber vs CO2, galvo vs gantry going to be easier to control engraving depth? Need to burn through the top layer of black paint but not the bottom layer of white paint. Engraved appearance is VERY important - clean crisp borders of engraved area and even engraved area without evidence of individual beam lines. Laser cost is more important right now than speed. Will a glass tube CO2 stepper motor machine give me good looking results if I take the time to dial everything in? If things work out I can always get a faster laser but if the quality of the engraving isn't top notch there wont be a next time. The guy I outsourced laser work to last time did a great job but I would like to bring the laser work in house.
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]If you have a machine for sale that would fit my need feel free to PM me.
IMG_0120.jpg

[/FONT]