What's new
What's new

Best way to make U shaped sheet metal part

ME Newb

Aluminum
Quantities are 100 to 300 from 11 gauge mild steel. Part is 6" "deep" as pictured from the end. I was thinking of getting a die made that could hopefully do it in one whack on a press brake. Worst case bend the 90s then put it in the die to coin it. What are your thoughts? Also if I use the coining method(correct me if this wouldn't be considered coining, I'm new to the press brake/stamping scene) what clearance should be allowed for the punch/die,20 thou? Thanks

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 10.13.11 PM.jpg

It may be a pain for that quantity but my go to for radii where custom dies aren't an option is to step bend.

If you do a lot of weird radius jobs you can also get a urethane lower die and use a largish radius punch (whatever you already have) and make arbitrary radii with no marks.

Biggest downside is it would take on the order of 12 hits on that part to fully form it, but that's what, 2 hours for 300, if that? Unless you charge through the roof per hour or get custom tooling crazy cheap your would need to do something like 8 runs at an absolute minimum to pay off new tooling.

Simplest is just a stack of the thickest bits you can easily laser cut to make the male and female dies, a quick touch up with a grinder and your in production in no time. Add some simple holes and lengths of all thread to keep em together, its that easy

Simplest is just a stack of the thickest bits you can easily laser cut to make the male and female dies, a quick touch up with a grinder and your in production in no time. Add some simple holes and lengths of all thread to keep em together, its that easy

We do this all the time. We call it Laminated Tooling. Typically we use 4130, make a male and female set using Dowel Pins to align them or a longer piece of rod if needed.

We have some tools that are up to 60 inches long made this way.