What's new
What's new

Cheap-As-Dirt stick welder to TIG?

OldWorldBlues

Plastic
Hi everyone! This is my first thread :)
I'm not a professional welder, just a hobbyist. I have some experience with MIG welding, but when the time came to get my own machine, I had to settle for a 90$ 100amp stick welder. I thought it would be good for small sheet metal jobs and repairs, but I recently looked into TIG welding and was intrigued. Could I use my AC stick welder to do scratch TIG on, say, thin aluminum and copper? Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give.

No advice on a conversion, but if you start hitting the industrial auctions you can find some pretty decent deals on older welding machines. I paid $25 for my mig (had to buy a new gun), and $40 for the stick welder (needed new leads) both with more capacity than I've ever need, downside is they both require a forklift to pick up:D

I'm not a professional welder, just a hobbyist. I have some experience with MIG welding, but when the time came to get my own machine, I had to settle for a 90$ 100amp stick welder. I thought it would be good for small sheet metal jobs and repairs, but I recently looked into TIG welding and was intrigued. Could I use my AC stick welder to do scratch TIG on, say, thin aluminum and copper? Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give.

If you know in advance.. that "thin" Aluminium and Copper.. are the task.. and are not, yourself, already an experienced all-around welding hand?

I'd suggest you will end up money ahead and with better results to set the little stick rig aside (or even peddle it..) then research and source a ready-made TiG rig suited to that tasking.

Guys that are seriously experienced welders can do most anything as has to be done with adapted substitutes, some of them from outright junk, and "antique" junk at that.

They have the knowledge. They have a "feel" for it.
Those can compensate for equipment shortcomings and still deliver good welds.