What's new
What's new

Chinese Handheld Laser Welders

dplucinski

Plastic
Does anyone know a thing or two about these?

YouTube

I havn't been able to find any sign of these being used in the U.S. nor has my rep from IPG. In fact, he said it was "disturbing" to see. I'm no expert, but I agree; hand-handling a 1kw laser seems like a recipe for disaster. Both for safety and liability.

So, anyone out there who happens to have some experience with these?

There's a metal optics shield/edge guide on the nozzle, I suspect (hope!) that there's a continuity or inductance sensor there to ensure contact with the work and that automatically cuts the beam if the laser is lifted or shifted off the part.

While not a perfect safety, it would cut down the risk of exposure to the beam for a worker.

And considering the military research China's doing on weaponized handheld lasers, this might just be a "back door" testing program... :eek:

Fiber laser wavelength is supposed to be fully absorbed by metal. That is why it works well on the mirror finish sheets they were cutting. I have easily cut mirror finished copper with my 1000 watt laser. My machine does not have an enclosure either.
DO NOT LOOK INTO BEAM WITH REMAINING EYE!!!

NASA has a US patent on a hand held laser welder. A number have been built and used. Their specification for the hand piece is much more TIG torch in size. NASA had a repair application that justified the effort. The idea hasn’t found much of a market. In general for big expensive items that need some welding, smooth steady motion is desired like what a machine can deliver. This Chinese unit looks big, heavy and cumbersome.