Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Michigan
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Chinese Handheld Laser Welders

Does anyone know a thing or two about these?

YouTube

I havn't been able to find any sign of these being used in the U.S. nor has my rep from IPG. In fact, he said it was "disturbing" to see. I'm no expert, but I agree; hand-handling a 1kw laser seems like a recipe for disaster. Both for safety and liability.

So, anyone out there who happens to have some experience with these?

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

There's a metal optics shield/edge guide on the nozzle, I suspect (hope!) that there's a continuity or inductance sensor there to ensure contact with the work and that automatically cuts the beam if the laser is lifted or shifted off the part.

While not a perfect safety, it would cut down the risk of exposure to the beam for a worker.

And considering the military research China's doing on weaponized handheld lasers, this might just be a "back door" testing program...

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Maine
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

That is really cool. I wonder if it will cut sheetmetal too.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

X2 on cool, I'm still waiting on something a bit smaller that will burn a hole thru a broken bolt that you can't reach.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Fiber laser wavelength is supposed to be fully absorbed by metal. That is why it works well on the mirror finish sheets they were cutting. I have easily cut mirror finished copper with my 1000 watt laser. My machine does not have an enclosure either.
    DO NOT LOOK INTO BEAM WITH REMAINING EYE!!!

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)