What's new
What's new

choosing steel for a project

maylar

Plastic
Happy New Year -

I'm intending to fabricate a luggage rack for my motorcycle, and have some choices as to material and processes. Ideally I'd like it to be shiny, so either polished stainless or chromed steel would work. Chrome would be outrageously expensive, and I have no experience choosing stainless alloys or with welding stainless (I use MIG).

My criteria would be something that doesn't rust, can be polished to high luster, and welds easily. Looking at Online Metals site, they list 304 and 316 at close to the same price. Is one better than the other? Strength is not critical, as this will be a light duty application.

Also, looking for SS MIG wire, I see mostly 308 & 309 listed. Can you mix alloys, or should the wire be the same as the base metal?

And finally, my shielding gas is argon/co2 mix for mild steel - is that OK for stainless?

Thanks.

Dave

Material Selection

Happy New Year -

I'm intending to fabricate a luggage rack for my motorcycle, and have some choices as to material and processes. Ideally I'd like it to be shiny, so either polished stainless or chromed steel would work. Chrome would be outrageously expensive, and I have no experience choosing stainless alloys or with welding stainless (I use MIG).

My criteria would be something that doesn't rust, can be polished to high luster, and welds easily. Looking at Online Metals site, they list 304 and 316 at close to the same price. Is one better than the other? Strength is not critical, as this will be a light duty application.

Also, looking for SS MIG wire, I see mostly 308 & 309 listed. Can you mix alloys, or should the wire be the same as the base metal?

And finally, my shielding gas is argon/co2 mix for mild steel - is that OK for stainless?

Thanks.

Dave