What's new
What's new

CNC Plasma

DieselMater86

Aluminum
So who all in runs, programs, designs, or really anything on a CNC Plasma? I just bought my 1st machine and going to try my hand with Fusion 360. I have been using Inventor at my daily job for 2 years now so not a hard transition but weird finding where somethings are located. I'm really trying to get my programming streamlined a bit. Just trying to learn just how the 2D Plasma Tool paths work.

you can get creative programing a plasma to take advantage of bevel cutting backwards, but 99.99999 time it is just a dxf or dstv import. You set parameters on the machine for holes (or to use/not use set parameters like tru hole or small hole) and lead in/out overburn for stock. Your machine parameters should take care of gases, pressures, dwells, and voltages.. none of that is in files imported.
A good dstv will have which parameters to default to, and a good controller will flag odd parameters.
the skews and all that are done by camera or eyeballing two points on the machines I know and have used (controlled automation, hornet, and voortman (voortmans are pretty places to store dirt and steel). If you are using dstv+ files I have not found them to be any good on importing nest, the machines software is better in every case.

So who all in runs, programs, designs, or really anything on a CNC Plasma? I just bought my 1st machine and going to try my hand with Fusion 360. I have been using Inventor at my daily job for 2 years now so not a hard transition but weird finding where somethings are located. I'm really trying to get my programming streamlined a bit. Just trying to learn just how the 2D Plasma Tool paths work.

What machine ?
What software ?

Its a DIY kit from Delto-Engineering using SheetCam for machine, and I'm using Fusion 360 for CAD.

Kinda what I figured, I have worked with (3) very similar,
My own, with sheetcam, and (2) Torchmate POS's

You'll be o.k. with sheetcam.