What's new
What's new

Die set dimensions?

Caspian

Hot Rolled
I am new to forming using a die set, and have been googleing to try to figure out the answers, but came up short.

I am bending 16 gauge mild steel sheets approx. 20 x 24. I would like to form 1/2" ribs throughout the 24" length to strengthen it. The easiest way for me to do this would be to make my own die set using 1/2" 4140 HT rod embedded in the top press die.

The bottom die would be machined with a round nose endmill.

My question is, what size round nose endmill should I be using for the correct clearance?

Is it as simple as adding the thickness of the metal being stamped to the bottom die?

Thanks
Chris

The problem is far more fundamental than the size of the pocket. When you form ribs like that in an open die, material is going to drawn into the form. If the form die is longer than the sheet of material, the width will shorten by the amount of of material drawn into each form. The sheet will look like and accordion. If the form die is shorter than the sheet, the end result will look like crumpled paper. To avoid these issues require a die that is far more complex than two platens. Secondly, you are going to need a big press and I am guessing about 25-35 tons of force. This can all be calculated, there are tables for this.

Tom

How about if I only did 3 ribs? One toward each side and one in the middle and adjusted the width to accommodate the shrinkage?

thanks

How about if I only did 3 ribs? One toward each side and one in the middle and adjusted the width to accommodate the shrinkage?

thanks

If the ribs are very shallow- Say .030" I think you may get away with a simple top and bottom tool. If you want more rib than that I think it's not happening if you're asking the questions you're asking about forming. There's just no way to do it without moving parts or multiple operations.