What's new
What's new

Facing Titanium

realityrat

Plastic
Hi everybody, thanks for taking the time to read my post.
I have to face mill 10"x10"x1" 6Al-4V titanium plates for use in an EOS 3d printing machine. The goal is just to get a flat surface within .001". I'm using a 7 flute carbide (GMS2 Coated)3/4 dia Bull nose Gorilla end mill with .09" rad. I've side milled a lot of titanium but I've never had to mill a plate flat, can somebody help with speeds and feeds and maybe any suggestions on cutting methods? I have a program with a trochoidal pocketing toolpath to keep cutting pressure consistent with a helical entry motion but again I'm new to face milling titanium. Thanks in advance, I do appreciate any and all suggestions.

It's frequently said that cutting Ti with a bare carbide cutter is better due to the sharper edge, and that you just have to accept more frequent regrinds and change-outs. Some work has been done using PCD, but that's doubtless a trial and error process to get right.

What's the condition of the plate? Is there any scale or other stuff that would complicate cutting? Is the printer a DLS or ? If so, is the workpiece WEDM'd off? And what machine is doing the cutting?

The plate is clean, after printing the part is sawed off and a little of the base is left on the plate. That is ground down with a cutoff wheel and the plate is resurfaced for the next printing job. I'm new to this metal printing so I'm not sure how much heat if any is transferred to the plate during the printing process.I tried using a 3 inch face mill but it seemed to smear the chips and didnt produce a good finish so the 3/4 dia. 7 flt carbide gorilla end mill was recommended but all the info I can find is about side milling and slotting. Since I'm just surfacing the top of the plate I'm only removing between .01"-.03" of material I'm not sure if the SFM and chip loads used for side milling would apply. I'll be machining the plate in a Haas VF4 SS.