What's new
What's new

Flowjet path cut help

Crowndroyal

Plastic
New to the water jet cutting and looking for help in choosing the proper paths and fixing up a vector image.

There are a bunch of lines not connecting and I am also trying to figure what the best way to cut the helmet part out would be so it gives a good strong image.

Maximus.jpg

This is going to hang on my sons door and would like the sword blades to be solid and the letters attached to the line on the bottom.
I am horrible at drawing and being artistic so really need help cleaning up the image connecting lines and taken lines out etc to give the best possible outcome when cutting on the water jet.

Wanting the length to be around 16" and the height of the letters around 3 to 4 inches, and the swords/helmet being around the 6" height range.

I am really new to the cam software etc, any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Crown

Not a cam question, this is cad work. I use illustrator for this type of work, much better at drawing and editing drawing than cad is. After you have a tight tracing done you can open it a cad package and scale it to size, find and open ends and overlaps and trim them out. From there you then convert all splines to arcs (or lines - poly lines suck if you want to change anything and can leave to faceted edge if done without care) so stay with arcs. Then import that dxf into your cutting out machine.
illustrator and corel both have auto trace functions, sometimes they work - I wouldn't bank on it with this image tho.

I have none of the programs, they are all at work and no time during work to mess around with it, not even sure they have cam software.

The guy that operates the water jet tells people to do all the work so he can just import and cut, I of course have no clue where to even start by the sounds of your reply.

guess now I am just hoping someone be nice enough to help me out. :scratchchin: