What's new
What's new

Gravity feed HVLP recommendation ?

Spud

Diamond
Good quality gravity feed HVLP spray-gun: what brands and models do you all like?
I presume SATA is the best, but what other brands are pretty good?

I've been using a Devilbiss Finishline 4 with Dekups. I like it alot and the Dekups makes cleanup really easy, plus can paint upside down too.

I have a 3M accuspray. No cleanup necessary, which was why I got it...just have to wipe the needle off and throw the consumables away.

Haven't painted anything in awhile and don't want to, either.

They're on amazon but local body shop/paint supply place stocks them and all the consumables.

They told me the cup system on this is often adapted to other guns because of ease of use.

I am not a member on any of those forums...yet. I am just getting into HVLP and don't plan on getting into it deeply in the very near future, so a sub-forum like this where the users are not specifically into automotive painting mighty be more up to my speed .

Im ex autobody. What do you wanna use it for spud?

Unless your into show grade finishes, some of the cheap ones on ebay are bloody good! I have both a 0.5mm (use it for water based varnish on smallish wood stuff mostly) and also a monster gravity HVLP with 1.3-2.4mm needles i use for U pol raptor. The first was sub £20 the second was around the £40 mark, sure there no £300 gun, but the build quality and finish on both is really good. The spray pattern on both is perfectly even, so any bad results are firmly down to me not the guns!

The transfer efficiency on both is bloody good, HVLP even in a cheap gun is definitely a winner even for my usage. Outside of a proper booth IMHO your kinda pissing in the wind if you think a more expensive - top of the range gun is such a benefit. My experience, environment is everything when spraying and matters way more with re-guard to finish out come than gun brand.

Can second pretty much everything adama said.