What's new
What's new

Handheld Cold Saw SFM

cscott92

Plastic
Hi this is my first post here but I have been looking into buying a handheld Cold Saw for cutting structural steel onsite. I have some experience setting up CNC machines but not much experience with actually making parts on them but I'm learning.

I'm a little confused by the specs for some of the hand held metal cutting saws. The 8" blades on these are spinning at 4400RPM (I think this is the no load speed) with 50 teeth on the blade. It looks like ~20ipm through 1/4" DOC is reasonable to expect from a saw like this so I'm cutting 1/11000 " per tooth with the tooth travelling at 9000 SFM. Does this greatly reduce the life of the blade or is this acceptable because each tooth is only cutting a hot chip for a short length of time and can cool off before the next cut? I mostly would use it on cheese grade structural steel.

I never see recommended speeds for carbide near 9000SFM. Did I calculate something wrong or are these cutters just totally different for speeds?

Yeah, the speeds on these are something what you would not expect for steel cutting with carbide.
WAG its a combination of very short time in cut and lots of time to cool off.
Short time in cut has a side effect that even 1 minute actual cutting time for insert life is acceptable. One teeth cuts maybe 1/2" and swooshes air for 24" so it spends only about 2% of time actually cutting something. 1 minute insert life would suck on lathe but on these it would be nearly one hour of cutting.

I would think a port-a-band would be more useful for structural steel- columns, beams, etc. have pretty large cross sections.