What's new
What's new

Help choosing power supply for plasma table build

I'm looking into building a plasma table and am considering what plasma cutter to use. I have some experience with machine design but this will be my first foray into plasma, of which I just have a basic theoretical understanding. I'm looking to build something that will see semi-commercial use, but budget is a priority.

As far as integration into the motion and height control systems(I know I will be working THC in but have not decided on the hardware for that,) what things should I be looking for in a plasma cutter? I see some that are labeled as 'CNC enabled' but I can't tell what exactly that means and how necessary that is.

Apologize for the relatively broad question but I am more looking for some experience from you guys that have pieced together your own systems. i.e. what you looked for in a cutter, what you might do differently, etc... Please let me know if there is more info I need to provide to make it a more answerable question. Thanks!

thickness of material would be first question. If 3/8 or better is standard then you want the hd units. If I was to buy a plasma table it would have a drill head on it, drilling is faster-better-stronger-cheaper than burning. If you have a forklift have the table like Komatsu with forklift plate loading capability.