What's new
What's new

Help selecting a brake press for purchase

Econdron

Hot Rolled
I've had a shop open now for about 5 years, but I've had very limited needs for a brake press. I have a smaller magnetic brake that works great for thinner, smaller pieces, but I'm looking for something that can handle larger stuff. I don't need anything bigger than a 6' length, and 50 tons or so would be plenty, though I definitely have the space and power for a larger brake. I'm mostly working with 18ga, 11ga, and sometimes small pieces of 1/4" steel and stainless.

I'm very new to brake presses, so I really don't know the brands, what features are good/bad, etc. I know Amada is nice, but those are all more than I want to spend on something that will only see occasional use. Ideally I'd like to be in the $5K range, if there was something that was a screaming deal, max budget would be about $10K.

Your recommendations, tips, and suggestions are much appreciated!

Econdron;3443779...I don't need anything bigger than a 6' length said:
and 50 tons or so would be plenty[/U],...

In a press brake 50 tons isn't much. Bending 6 ft. of 1/8 mild steel with a 1" bottom die (8x mat. thickness) requires
about 66 tons of force. You can overcome this to some extent by using a wider bottom die--a 1-1/4" bottom die (10x
material thickness) would just squeak in at 51 tons--but sometimes you need the tighter corner that the smaller die
would give you.

As the material width goes down the thickness can go up but if you want to use the full 6' width of the brake you need
more tonnage.

Playing around with this little calculator will give you an idea of the relationship between material thickness, die width
and part length...

Accurpress Tonnage Calculator

As the material width goes down the thickness can go up but if you want to use the full 6' width of the brake you need
more tonnage