What's new
What's new

How to/ Best way ... Solid rivets into alum doors

Bondo

Hot Rolled
So I have been working on a project that builds aluminum carts. There is a lot to them and a lot if carts to build. Currently we build it from 100% aluminum, hinges and all. These are for industrial food companies.

What I currently do is weld 2) 2 1/2 OAW alum hinge x 24" long to a 1 1/4" sq tube post and 1/8" alum door, because I am copying what they currently have. The problem with this design has always been the alum hinge itself. It wears out fast.

I want to install a stainless hinge, with the idea of solid riveting the hinge to the door using counter sink rivets from the door side to keep sanitary, and to mechanically attach it to the 1 1/4" tube.

I have never done solid rivets before and after reading a lot of them on here, I am looking for advise on how to keep the rivets to a reasonable price. As in can I use my ironworker to smash the rivet to set it? Should I use alum or ss rivets? If I use ss rivets, I need a hell of a tool to set them. Alum I could be fast at.

The idea is to put 4 rivets per leaf (24") on the door side, these things get beat heavily at times.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

I've used a hydraulic rivet/insert/stud machine very much like this video:

I noticed some great benefits after using it for installing studs in a panel like the video. After that one job i consider such a machine absolutely required if there's production pressing going on.

Mine has a foot pedal that brings the ram down, makes contact applying moderate pressure and a second tap on the pedal goes to full pressure and sends the ram back up. That's exactly what is needed to have consistent results and a single foot is all you can spare.
You can make adjustments to the pressure and easily dial in the point where the insert is flush but not leaving a mark on the sheet.