What's new
What's new

How to manufacture / bend small copper u-channel // Tape Cover

TJMark

Plastic
Hi,

does anyone have an idea how to manufacture following part:

IMG_2384.jpgIMG_2385.jpgIMG_2386.jpgIMG_2387.jpg

I have milled the outline of this part (which is okay) but I'm stuck at bending it so far.

thanks,
Mark

Thank you for your feedback!

Do you have any idea how much the die would cost to make something similar?
Or can this be performed with some standard dies and fine tuning afterwards?

I have some CNC machining experience but absolute no idea about stamping.

Thank you for your feedback!

Do you have any idea how much the die would cost to make something similar?
Or can this be performed with some standard dies and fine tuning afterwards?

I have some CNC machining experience but absolute no idea about stamping.

I would say that you haven't a chance in hell to produce that part except if you would do it by way of hand cutting and filing craftsmanship.

Do you have experience with making such dies? Or does anyone have here?
I wonder what a die for that should look like.

As mentioned I have some CNC experience, I know about CAD/CAM as well. I have a small CNC at home as well which should be capable of milling tool steel with a small carbide bit (so far I mostly milled soft steel and aluminium).
for the actual part I have done much more already (small soft steel gears m0.3; electronics for it; milled an accurate body) and this is the last part that is open on the list. I do have a plan b and c for that but I also want to learn more about the process for making such u-channel parts.

Speed also doesn't matter if it takes me one day to make one part that's just fine, so I see where the problems are.

I just did a test before:
I got some tool steel for testing last week (SKD61) seems like I can mill it like butter with my CNC and the carbide endmill which I've bought. So I'm looking forward to learn more about the stamping process.