What's new
What's new

I am purchasing a laser and I need advice

jmarshll

Plastic
Good evening everyone,

I'm looking for some advice on the profile cutting industry and how difficult it is to start out.

Here is my story:

I have several years of experience with operating water jets and plasma tables and going on 8 years of design experience. I am well versed in modeling (solidworks) and decent with prints. About a year and a half ago I took the plunge and left my job to start my own business. I started a detailing business because it was very low start up cost and almost no overhead. This business has been successful so far and I have 3 employees, but this business was only created so that I could understand what it means to run a business successfully. Now that I have seen the business side of things I am ready to make the move to buying a laser table (well sort of).

Questions:

First and foremost- Is it possible to run a 2k-3k watt laser in my 1500 sq. ft. shop at my house? I have 240v in my shop, i assume i will need a transformer and some other equipment, but it would be the most cost effective. If not i'm looking at at least 1800 a month to rent a shop. I already rent a shop for my detailing business, which I could convert for the laser table since most of my business is mobile, but it wouldn't be my first choice because it is neither heated nor cooled, not to mention I don't want to cloud what belongs to each business.

#2- I'm going to have to finance/lease to buy a table. Based on everyone's experience, is it possible to turn a profit while making payments on a table (I don't really expect to pay myself very much in the first few years. I know this is an investment, but I need the table to make money to put back into growing the business).