What's new
What's new

I'm looking for TIG welder opinions

steve-l

Titanium
I do TIG work a few times every month. I have owned and used many machines over the years. I now use 3 phase welding inverter machines exclusively. I really like them. They are much easier on the wall supply and very smooth. However, I have a pet peeve. Many of the new inverter machines no longer have individual control knobs for each adjustment. The new machines want you to first recall a parameter from memory, then adjust it, then restore it to memory. This drives me crazy. I see no value in this system. In my mind, TIG machines are used for one-off jobs and rarely in a production environment. In my shop no TIG job is the same. I think this change benefits only the manufacturer, not the welder. What do you guys think about this?

I am not a professional, so maybe this is not much help. I have a Lincoln Square Wave 200. It has some of the features that you don't like, but I have not used them. It has a push button to switch between ac and dc, and a nice dial for amperage. There is another button for other options, but I have not used that too much. I bought the welder about a year ago when they had a $400 rebate.
I have been happy with it i don't weld too much, but have welded steel of various thicknesses up to 1/4", about 0.30" stainless, and a little bit of aluminum.

it's a "problem" with design ergonomics lately, not just TIG welder related, the best example (or worst) are Tesla cars with their huge touch screen and absence of tangible knobs or buttons, while it is great from manufacturing standpoint - cheap and easy to make, and interface design changes can be just a software update, the downside is that you need to take eyes off the road to do even simple adjustments