What's new
What's new

Moderately Priced Good Quality Tubing Bender

Grits

Stainless
Hello Everyone.

Now that I have a TIG welder I have been thinking about all the things I could build with a tubing bender. I have several projects that would require one. My primary project is a T-Top for my Center console boat.

Speed is not a concern because I am a hobbyist; however I would like something that is somewhat accurate and repeatable. I would like to bend up to 2" SS with a wall thickness of no more than 1/8 inch. Most of the two inch material would actually be half that.

I appreciate all and any advise yall will offer.

Thanks,

Grits

The JD2's are the best compromise of price versus capacity out there.
They are essentially a modified Hossfeld bender.
And for tubing, they rule.

But they are only good for tubing. For tubing, you need dedicated dies fore each size, to get good bends, so if you stick to one or two sizes, its not TOO bad in price.

For all around bending, a Hossfeld is still the ticket. They will bend anything, in a wide range of sizes, shapes, and radiuses.
They are not as good for tubing as the JD2, but they will bend pipe, tubing, EMT, square tube, cap rail, and much more.

2" though, is the upper limit for manual bending- it takes a LOT of oohmph to bend 2", especially 2" stainless.
I bend 2" stainless on my $10,000 Italian Curvatrici, which is 3hp, 3phase, weighs 2000lbs, and is built like a tank. And 2" stainless schedule 40 is pushing it right to its limit. Not to mention the 2" pipe dies for it cost something like $800, just for the dies.

I think you will find you will be better off to stick to 1 1/2" pipe or tube, with a JD2.

I have trouble bending SS tubing in my Hossfeld, it usually kinks badly, especially thinner wall tubing. Ask the bender manufacturer for sample bends before you buy if you are buying the bender specifically for that material.