What's new
What's new

Multipass GMAW Welder Settings

ShaunM

Aluminum
I need to weld together a couple pieces of 1”x3” CRS end-to-end (take two short ones and make a long one). The plan is to use a double-V groove, 1/8” root gap, with a 60 degree included angle. First a root pass, then flip the work, grind to clean metal, another root, then flip back and forth for filler/cap passes. This is all flat work on a bench.

I have a Miller Shopmaster 300 AC/DC power source with a Millermatic S-52A wire feeder and C25 gas at my disposal. When the welding is complete all surfaces (4 sides) will need to be ground down flush with the parent material. There are no specs called out on this weld – it’s just a case of not having long-enough material available. Grinding will be done with an angle grinder and hard disk/flap wheel, so nothing too critical there, either

This is a process I have done successfully several times in the past but I’m trying to refine the process and save some grinding time. Previously I was using a 90 degree included angle which means more welding and larger area to clean up.

The question is, what settings are recommended for a weld like this? I haven’t had much luck finding any wire speed/voltage recommendations for multi-pass welding. Again, I've made it work before, but there is always room for improvement. Thanks.

I will just say to add some run off tabs on both sides of the bars. This lets you start and stop the weld off the main material. Just cut them off with a cutting disk when done. Most common place to have a problem is starts and stops, so when you do not have them in your weld all is better. You should be turning down the heat as the material heats up also.
You dont mention what wire you will use, I would do it with dual shield but if you only have solid wire it is probably ok too.