What's new
What's new

Need help Minting my Own Gold

Noxx

Plastic
Hello fellow Machinists,
My name is John-Nicholas, and I'm studying in Chemical Engineering.
I need your help because my knowledge in mechanics is limited...

I am currently trying to find a formula to calculate the Force needed to press a 10 grams gold bar. I tried with the Young's Modulus formula, but it does not seem to apply to this case, since I ended up with 1 000 000 kg required... lol

So, does anyone has an idea of the appropriate formula ? I looked in the Machinery's handbook without success. I have the Young's modulus, Poisson's ratio, Yield Strength and Ult Tensile Strength values for gold.

Second question, I would like to know what is the best type of steel to use for this application ? A friend of mine told me to use O type steel. The steel must not deform to high pressure but will not have to handle shocks.

Thank You very much in advance.

Thanks for the replies,

stannp368,
My bars will be in rectangular shape.

My current bars (which I poured) are 0.6'' x 0.3'' x 0.15''
They will be cold pressed to 0.7761'' x 0.5174'' x 0.07874''
Or if you prefer: 19.7130mm x 13.1420mm x 2.0mm

surplusjohn,
Thank, I'll take a look.

Thanks guys.

There was a thread here on PM a year or two back about coining (actually making coins). The man was planning to use a board-type drop hammer, as I recall. I will let you do the search.

Meanwhile, here is information about a private mint, their products, and their equipment.
http://www.shirepost.com/Coinage.html

As they said, a six pound hammer will get you started, unless you want to compete with Credit Suisse for quality of product.

Larry

L Vanice, thanks for the input.

But yes I want to compete with Credit Suisse and such. ;)

To give you an idea, a friend of mine is currently drawing me some plans that will be loaded in a CNC Mill. I want my ingots to be as professional as possible.

Thanks