What's new
What's new

Newbie here, some sandblasting/finishing guidance needed!

m0rg0th

Plastic
Hi,

I'm making small parts and electronic housings; just recently decided to go from prototypes to small production batches but definitely cannot sell my aluminum parts without a good finish. Parts are quite small and outsourcing these to somebody else to make a decent finish is cost prohibitive as these are supposed to be inexpensive parts selling in volumes. Long story short, I'm looking into opportunity to make a good sand blasting setup in my garage if I can get results I want.

Today I've tried to sandblast a small part outside of my garage using GreenGrit (crushed glass & some sand I guess), 30-60 grit and gravity feed blaster gun. Of course it is a mess without a cabinet and good dust control system but I simply tried to experiment and see what type of finish I can get with this media. I've used this media because I've read that it can produce some luster-like finish on aluminum and also blend out machining marks.

Well, blending machining marks was a success, the finish texture is also great, however, when I tried to compare my part to a simple Chinese USB hub sitting on my desk, my part appeared to be much darker.

Please see pictures attached:

afterblast.jpg

greengrit.jpg

Not quite sure how to achieve the same finish, is it just my media? Should I use something else? Or it should be multi step sand blasting process, i.e. blasting it with 60 grit (crushed glass or aluminum oxide) and then blasting with something else to actually whiten it? Meaning I will have to buy two sandblasting cabinets for production work to avoid switching and potentially contaminating media in the same cabinet? Or could it be probably some chemical treatment to a sandblasted part?

Any input will be appreciated,

Thank you!

Hi,