What's new
What's new

OT : Overbending a Stainless Exhaust Elbow

TheBigLebowski

Aluminum
I have a couple of 45 degree exhaust elbows made from 2.125 OD 16 gage Stainless steel. I need to add about 10-12 degrees of overbend to them to get the correct alignment.

I tried to make up a set of solid forms to use in a hydraulic press (this method works for solid bar) - but because the tube is hollow it kinked up pretty badly at the initial contact points instead of bending.

Has anyone had any luck bending pipe like this without a mandrel? I already ordered a new set of elbows up, if bending it is a no go maybe I should make the new set of pipes shorter and machine an adapter to go between the elbow and muffler.

Capture2.png

Capture.png

Pack it full of dry sand before the bend. Last century method was to fill with molten rosin. After cooling do the bend and then melt out the rosin.

Bob
WB8NQW

Buy a 90, cut it off where you need it and weld back together.

Or, like me, have a neighbor that owns a mandrel bending company.

Just tried to bend the spare one by inserting tight fitting round stock in each end and packing the middle with sand; still kinks up pretty badly.

It looks like it's either going to be cut and weld or machine an adapter.

Buy a 90, cut it off where you need it and weld back together.

Or, like me, have a neighbor that owns a mandrel bending company.

This would be my choice, or a couple pie cuts on the elbow would probably work fine for ~10 degrees

Just tried to bend the spare one by inserting tight fitting round stock in each end and packing the middle with sand; still kinks up pretty badly.

It looks like it's either going to be cut and weld or machine an adapter.

To bend with dry sand:-
cap one end (weld up a disc)
fill with sand
cap the other end
hold in a pipe vice
fire up the biggest rose bud you have
heat and bend as you like

like this is pretty similar to how mike the pipe used to do it back int day

cap one end
fill with sand