What's new
What's new

Question- tig technique- pause and dab or??

Trboatworks

Diamond
I am a relative beginner with tig welding.
I am confident in the work for the things I am welding but want to improve my speed.

What I’m doing:

-I have good torch control and can keep the torch at correct height and steady.

-I can keep the filler wire off the tungsten and I am dabbing at leading edge of puddle.

-I stop the torch and wait to see the root wet out then dab the filler rod, move the torch forward and repeat.

So question- should I keep the torch moving with more heat perhaps and just keep dabbing the rod to fill or is it correct that I stop the torch.
I was watching one of those videos on how to tig and that guy seemed to keep it moving.
Both can be right?

This is about how my welds look when my head is screwed on right- that’s a fillet on 3/8” steel plate running 200 amps:

B9BE3703-F6C2-4646-92B7-0643925B57A8.jpg

Thanks all

The answer to your question is... it depends on your job requirements.

Any weld can look amazing from the torch side and like total crap from a penetrating side.

The main thing understanding how to weld and achieve the result you require. This can be done by adding heat so it is more consistent or just staying in 1 spot longer. Usually people do 1 thing wrong, they use too large of a filler wire. People use a thicker wire so they dont have to move or dab as often, the problem with having too large of a filler rod is that it takes a massive amount of heat to melt it. It's like welding 1/8 diamond plate and running over the diamonds with the same heat setting as the plate. You dont get the good results you need. I personally run the smallest realistic rod I can. That way i can massive feed if needed or just take my time. Either way I never starve heat.

The other thing is your prep, which I am sure you already know.