What's new
What's new

Self taught welder needs some advice on a technique

Booster

Cast Iron
Helo, Let me first say i have bought a lincoln arc welder about 3 years ago and just started welding and learning by doing. I've read up on welding to some degree also.

I have a couple of particular geometries i am welding together and i have become so frustrated with myself that i cannot get a good weld.

My camera is broken so i cannot yet get a photo of this so allow me to form a picture for you.

All is mild steel and about 12 gauge.

I have a small cylinder i am welding to a large cylinder. Imagine a 12" dia can sitting upright. Made from 12 ga rolled into a tube. I am welding to it another cylinder shape, and it is also oriented upright. It is 4" long 3/4" dia and also about 12 ga thickness. Where the two objects meet, i am trying to form a beed on both sides.

I was told to weld these when upright and use about 30 deg up. Also using 6013 rod 3/32" size. It seems that when the rod melts down into it, it is so unpredictable and sort of pulls into various directions. It globs and forms gaps. I recently tried laying a piece of welding rod against where the to curved edges come together in hopes that this would aid in filling it in.

I have a garbage wire feed welder from harbor frieght that i never use and i realize that wire is probably gonna be easier, but i would prefer to master the arc welding on this first.

Any tips on this?

If i left out some details, let me know. I think i covered it and hopefully you can understand the parts i am welding together.

are the tubes side by side like beer cans in the fridge or end to end like when you buy two beers at the same time and hold them in one hand?

Yes exactly, Side by side like beer cans. Its where they meet that seems to take a weld unpredictably no mater how i angle it, swirl, stitch.. etc.

just a thought