What's new
What's new

Sheetmetal Blank Size Calculating

PM2.5

Plastic
37727008752_6ab94507ca_o.jpg

Hi all,

I’ve just commenced working with a fabrication company. We receive a lot of sheetmetal requests from customers and while I have some experience of basic sheetmetal design on SolidWorks I am not up to speed with fabricating it and all the nitty grityy things to consider.

I received a set of drawings from a customer recently and need to calculate my blank size (total flat pattern size) which I believe is based on the outside dimensions minus the material thickness. I can’t seem to find a standard formula to verify this.

In the attached image for example (apologies for poor quality) would I need to do the following:
• Subtract 1.5mm from the top horizontal 25mm dimension
• Do I subtract thickness again from 110mm?
• I believe for the 46mm dimension I subtract 2/9 of thickness from 46mm
• Not sure about the 39.38 or the 23.38
Perhaps one could point me in the direction of a good Youtube video?

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    21.1 KB · Views: 528
Are you familiar with terms like K-Factor, Bend Allowance, and Bend Deduction? These are the things I would look into and learn about and everything should fall into place. I use Alibre Design (CAD) for sheet metal design. You specify materiel thickness and K-Factor (a lookup value for known materials and bending processes) and it calculates the rest. The software can flatten the finished part and you have the dimensions of the sheet metal before bending. I think Solidworks does the same. Else you can calculate it all by hand. Searching the net for sheet metal design k factor gives lots of good info like this Calculating Bend Allowance, Bend Deduction, and K-Factor

As for your specific questions I have no idea where you are getting the 1.5mm from. Read through the link I posted and I think you should arrive at the solution to your question.