What's new
What's new

So I bought a new press brake. Now what?

CPM2014

Cast Iron
I just purchased our first first piece of our new fab department. We bought a 1993 Toyokoki APB-3613W that appears to be in great condition. Specs are 48” bed, 36ton and 6 axis back gauge. This will be accompanied by a Waterjet and other misc. equipment for sheet metal prototype work in the 2-25pc range. Materials will be mostly sub 1/8”, aluminum, ss, and mild steel.

We are a mostly CNC machining shop so our experience in this department is non existent. I’m looking for some help and suggestions on how to properly outfit this machine. I realize that there are hundreds of punch and die profiles but what are good general purpose die profiles? Any wear items or spares I should have on hand for machine or tooling?

Lastly, are any of you familiar with this machine, and/or control? Any insights?

I’ve been machining since 1995 and I’m really excited to get my feet wet on something different! Thanks in advance. -Chris04430E9A-1248-4E13-B358-70E9446CF27A.jpgF76FCB3F-6674-42D2-A701-C0ADCD9A0EB5.jpgD07F7687-BEE0-4420-BC1C-09E63F7DC6E1.jpg293C415C-2026-4B1A-9D91-DFFEF4C3C84F.jpg

Buy a robot, that can reach all the corners of the waterjet table.

Program it to pick up pieces from the table, and hold them in the press brake,

Make it an enclosed cell with light curtains, with a "output" or set down are for completed parts.

I just purchased our first first piece of our new fab department. We bought a 1993 Toyokoki APB-3613W that appears to be in great condition. Specs are 48” bed, 36ton and 6 axis back gauge. This will be accompanied by a Waterjet and other misc. equipment for sheet metal prototype work in the 2-25pc range. Materials will be mostly sub 1/8”, aluminum, ss, and mild steel.