What's new
What's new

TIG question

Rolland

Aluminum
I am looking to purchase a small tig welder for light welding work, mainly gunsmithing. I was looking at the Miller Enconotig model and was interested in knowing if anybody had any dealings with this model.
I had also looked at the Lincoln Precision tig 225

I have an econo tig for sale that is like new condition. Only reason I'm selling is I bought a syncrowave 250. They are very nice welders. Jason

Do you plan on doing any Aluminum? If not go with the Maxstar 150STL or 200. Both are great machines, way smoother DC than any transformer machine.

I have the 150STL, Dynasty 200DX, XMT-304, and Ltec 250HF. Inverter is the way to go.

Macona
Are you saying the Maxstar is not suitable for aluminum? I am very new to tig welding and don't know a lot about it yet other than watching others use one. So I need all the help I can get in that department.

Yes, for welding aluminum you need AC output. I personally dont like lincolns machine. From working on the I think they are poorly designed and several years behind miller. Miller and Thermal arc both make good inverter machines.

If you can swing the price go for a Miller Dynasty 200 or Thermal Arc ArcMaster 185 or 200. Otherwise the Synchrowave 200 is a very good machine for the money. All of these machines will do aluminum.

I have an econotig at work. Not especially impressed. hard to fix things when they break. if you can afford something better, I would get something better. I like miller welders, but I'm sure there are others that work fine too. I just have had the best experiences with them, although that might be because I have used them more than others, so I am used to the controlls and feel of them better than others.