What's new
What's new

TIG welding beer cans?

FlatBeltBob

Stainless
Time and again I have heard the boast " he's such a great TIG welder that he can tig 2 beer cans end to end "
Well I am a fair welder myself , and have tried this a few times with no luck .
As a matter of fact I have never actually seen anyone do this .
Is this just another urban legend , or only possible with a robotic electron beam welder ?
If I adjust my welder to minimum heat , I get no arc at all , and just a notch higher is way too much heat .
So what say ye TIG GODS , what's the rest of the story ?
FBBob

attachment.php

Miller Syncrowave 180. The trick is to sand all the anodizing off without making the can any thinner than it already is. Also, use as small a tungsten as you can (probably .040") and the smallest filler you can (I believe I used .035 filler for that).

Attachments

• Soda cans (Medium).JPG
    Soda cans (Medium).JPG
    63.9 KB · Views: 62,635
Dang ! I'm impressed .
I have a Miller Shopmaster with an add on tig unit . I can vary the freq , but what kind of heat setting are you using ?
Thanks

Dunno. I did that years ago. You need to set your amperage to 'just enough'. :) Make sure you have a good ground...that is absolutely critical. Make damn sure your tungsten isn't split. Clean your filler with a scotch brite pad or similar, then wipe with acetone. Clean those cans like you're going to eat off of them, then clean some more.

I made some bellows from 28ga 304 sheet a few years ago. I ran 1 amp on the outside corners with .020" tungsten. Just keep practicing, you'll get it.

Guy I know, bought an old Lincoln TIG 25 years ago.
The old guy he got it from came to my buddys garage to help him set it up.
He (old guy) welded Alu FOIL together with it....I just saw the foil not the process so I don't know what all he did. I think he was a welder at the local Westinghouse plant.

I was impressed.