What's new
What's new

Water jet tolerances 5 inches thick

RJT

Titanium
I'm quoting some parts that that are shaped like a boomerang 5" thick from 6061 T-6. They will have to be machined all over afterward, but I'm thinking of having the blanks cut by water jet (subcontract, I don't have a water jet).. For that thickness, how much material should I have them leave on to machine after water jet cutting the blank ? There is a 12" radius in the the center, and the part is 20" by 20", and will average 1 3/8 wide when finished. We have had very little ever cut by water jet, so I don't have any reference.

I don't run a water jet myself, but I asked the guys here who do. According to them, the blank will flare out at the bottom by only a little. They claim that 0.03" should be enough to leave for cleanup, but leave 0.06" if you're unsure.

Or you could ask the folks at the place where you will get the work done.

*disclaimer* Not a machinist.
I'm just a welder, but I work on a bunch of parts that start as waterjeted blanks and end up machined after. Some are 1"-2" thick done in house. I have seen 1/16 tapers through the thickness, and have seen other edges square enough to not show light through the cut edge and my import 123 blocks and a blanchard ground welding table (I hope that makes sense, again not a machinist:(...).
From talking to the guy who runs the jet, speed is one of the biggest factors in terms of cut quality/squareness. Fast causes taper, slow takes too long...
W.A.G to your situation... Plasma cut them? Unless you are constrained by thermal issues. If that's the case, give your self a 1/16"+ a smidge all around and let the jet people rip and tear through as fast as they can...
Again, not a machinist, just a welder that works with and hears them bitch about the parts we are working on...

I can't say for sure how much allowance you need--you should talk to the place that will actually do