What's new
What's new

Welding tool steel socket to mild steel at home.

Jim.Thompson

Plastic
I want to weld a tool steel socket (from a mechanics socket set) to a mild steel plate at home. I only have a stick welder.
I am aware that I should use low hydrogen rods, but find them so difficult to use especially on small jobs.
Can I get away with using mild steel general purpose electrodes?

I am just a hobbyist; my apologies for the amateur nature of the question.

Jim.

I want to weld a tool steel socket (from a mechanics socket set) to a mild steel plate at home. I only have a stick welder.
I am aware that I should use low hydrogen rods, but find them so difficult to use especially on small jobs.

Jim.

In a prior life ... I once made up several extended-reach crowfoot type by disk-grinding open-end wrenches in half, welding on a length of hardware-store hollow square tubing at right-angles to the flat side with a hollow that fit the ratchet/breaker bar.

Welder was a 1970's vintage 200+ A AC Dayton/Grainger AKA "El Cheapo".

Rod was a vanilla general-purpose 'Fleetweld'. A 'Sodel' offering? Can't recall, but 'mild steel' was wot I used mostly, even where i should not have done..

Both choices 'coz they were all I had under-roof on the day.

Weld is still good 30-40 years on.

For sockets, I'd use the black-oxide 6-point ones made for air-tools. Easier to scuff to bare metal, no worry about Nickel/Chromium plating complications, easier to paint as part of your final/final.

Bill

Jim.

Tech Tip: Repairing Tools with 312 Stainless Filler Rod - YouTube

Blue Max 2100
Stainless Steel Stick Electrodes

lincolnelectric
Techalloy 312TIG.

Preheat and post heat 500F ish
Toaster oven works for this

I can buy these stick rods one at at time at my local welding supplier shop.

If you already have 309 stainless, give it a try on scrap tools probably works