What's new
What's new

what makes plasma cuts smoke?

swellwelder

Stainless
Every plasma cutter I have used(maybe three different brands) have all had the same type of smoke billow out from under the metal being cut. Except the one I now have. A thermo dynamics PAK master 50. I have made at least a dozen cuts with it, from 14 ga. to 1/2" plate and there is virtually no smoke. This is with the amp control adjusted from barely enough to cut to wide open and nothing causes smoke. This is on carbon steel, stainless, and aluminum. So does anyone know what the smoke is, and why this one doesn't seem to?

Dale Nelson

Often referred to as metal fume. Very fine particles of metal. Most work environment rules require extraction since it is more dangerous than conventional weld smoke. Odd... since all I have used and seen create the smoke.

I have a pak master 75, have had it for fifteen years or so, and have made at least ten thousand times your one dozen cuts- and it smokes every time.
You should see the ceiling of my shop- its brown. And thats with a water table, an electrostatic fume extractor, and full shop air evacuation fans.

You are observing a few odd aberrations. You plasma cutter will smoke. Stuff gets vaporized at 45,000 degrees. Its a physical fact of life.
Aluminum usually puts out big clouds of nasty smoke. Oil on the plate burns. and metal becomes vapor.

I am not saying that plasma doesn't smoke. That has been the case with every cut I have ever made with plasma. But the fact is this one has not made any noticeable smoke in the cuts I have made. I did state I had cut aluminum with it, but I haven't, just talked with someone who said aluminum smokes the worst. Anyway, as long as it lasts, I will enjoy not having to get rid of the smoke!

Dale