What's new
What's new

What's inside a gas mixer?

Tenson

Plastic
Hi,

I'm a total noob welder and like many I started to think how nice it would be to mix my own gas with a Y splitter to allow an 98\2 Argon CO2 mix from the separate bottles for doing stainless. Then I read a few forum posts and realised it was not so easy.

Now my question is: what's actually inside a shop bought gas mixer?

I'm just wondering if 3D printing might allow a DIY version some success where more simple DIY methods have failed given it can produce complex geometry and software like SimScale can even simulate fluid dynamics.

An open source 3D printable gas mixer would be pretty cool and I'm sure there are some big brains here that might have the combined knowledge to make it happen :scratchchin:

Hi,

I'm a total noob welder and like many I started to think how nice it would be to mix my own gas with a Y splitter to allow an 98\2 Argon CO2 mix from the separate bottles for doing stainless. Then I read a few forum posts and realised it was not so easy.

Now my question is: what's actually inside a shop bought gas mixer?

I'm just wondering if 3D printing might allow a DIY version some success where more simple DIY methods have failed given it can produce complex geometry and software like SimScale can even simulate fluid dynamics.

An open source 3D printable gas mixer would be pretty cool and I'm sure there are some big brains here that might have the combined knowledge to make it happen :scratchchin:

Ed Craig at weldreality detailed doing just that.

I used to use 2 regulators (with flowmeters) and a Tee fitting set-up
that way, but now I have a smith gas mixer.

Ed Craig at weldreality detailed doing just that.

I used to use 2 regulators (with flowmeters) and a Tee fitting set-up
that way, but now I have a smith gas mixer.