What's new
What's new

ASTM A36 Steel

Gordon Coor

Aluminum
Could someone explain to me what ASTM A36 Steel is. As a novice home shop guy, I'm already fammilliar with the AISI/SAE steel numbering system.

In my professional life, I often see ASTM A36 steel specified in drawings, etc. Since my boss thinks I'm an engineer, I figure I'd better know what this stuff is in case he asks me some day.

Are these ASTM designations simply specifications covering tensile strength, yeild strenth, etc., that a number of the AISI steels would meet?

Thanks,

Gordon Coor

It's just like the plate form of 1018 mild steel. Cuts like butter. The scale on the outside is nasty though. Gring, or acid etch off the scale. It will eat your tools.
36k psi tensile/yeild.

Gordon,

ASTM A36 designation is usually applied to structural steel. This steel in the "as rolled" condition will have a minimum 36KSI yield strength and between 58-80 KSI tensile strength. Many people think that just because you have the 36KSI yield, you meet A36 specs. The max of 80 KSI tensile is there so that the structural member is no so brittle as to cause cracking.

Most (but not all) structural pieces such as angles, channels, and beams are made to A36.

JR

Doug,

A36 is not "just like 1018"!

First of all, the plate is in the "as rolled" condition (hot rolled). Second, 1018 hot rolled only has a yield of 32KSI.

You can not substitute cold rolled plate for A36! It is speced that way for a reason. It might machine similar, but its not.

I don't remember the exact details, but a few years ago, there was a large lawsuit against a shop that suppied re-enforcing cages for a bridge. The shop had substituted for A36 and the parts were cracking. Some of the concrete had already been poured and had to be removed. It was a nasty mess by the time it was straightened out.

JR