What's new
What's new

definition of "mechanicaly sound" referring to a used lathe

tkrotw

Aluminum
In what condition would you expect to find a lathe described as "mechanicaly sound"? What would you expect to fix? what would you assume to be intact? servicable? in need of replacement or repair prior to switching it on?
Thanks
Tom Rose

I'll field this one if you don't mind. Mechanicaly sound in my mind as a machinery repairman would mean that you would be able to put the machine to any task that has been asked of it in the past and you would expect it to finish it without any rude noises or guess work as to wether or not it was going to finish the cut. Now! as to wether or not it will be accurate enough for you being the new owner may very well be in question. Many shops have "new" lathes. Many shops have "old" lathes. Just because a lathe does not cut as new, does not mean it is not mechanicaly sound.

I dunno, and I'm no expert in the field of used machine tools.

But, I've been a participant in the vintage guitar business for four decades, and I can surely spot the salesman rhetoric.

"Mechanicaly sound" rings as true to me as, "Mint condition, considering its age." Namely, it gives no information except that the seller is interested in telling you that other examples may be worse off.

"Mint condition" means exactly that - there's literally no way to tell it from new. WIth the modifier "for its age," the expression is meaningless.

For me, at least, "mechanically sound" means only that there are no parts actually falling off at this moment.

Cheers,

Frank Ford
FRETS.COM
Gryphon Stringed Instruments
My Home Shop Pages

[ 12-28-2006, 03:15 AM: Message edited by: Frank Ford ]