What's new
What's new

Fuses, basic question.

SND

Diamond
So tonight I turned the power On on the lathe and blew a fuse as soon as I went to engage the lever. Took me about 20 minutes to find the actual fuse as at first I thought it was the On or emergency switch acting up. Of course the lathe has 2 different fuse sizes and the only one I had in spare were not the type that blew. So tomorow I'll try to find some new ones.

Question is: Do fuses sometimes just quit without having a surge? I've been running that lathe for about 2 years now. I did nothing out of the ordinary so I'm wondering. Why now? It's a 250V 20amp fuse. Lathe takes 2 of them.

Thanks

I don't know if fuses actually lose there working rating after 2 years. I know a motor will typically have a rise in amps as soon as you turn it on, and then it will decrease a bit and smooth out. Maybe something has began bogging the motor to make it draw more amps.

I've had fuses get tired and blow for no apparent reason. I've pried open the can on some rather large fuses and was quite surprised at the flimsy little bit of metal that is taking all those amps.