What's new
What's new

Grinding Wheel for HSS

I'm not an expert, but I like the white wheel which is on my grinder. I prefer it to the more common grey abrasive wheels, because it keeps the bit cooler.

I don't know what grit it is. The coarse or medium grits are better for roughing out the shape of a toolbit from a blank. Fine grits are better for touching up an existing toolbit. A fine grit will work well if you already have a belt sander in your shop for roughing out the toolbit shape. Also, no matter what grit you use on the grinder, you can always hone down the edge afterwards with a slipstone or a diamond E-Z-Lap.

I believe that the green wheels are made from a different abrasive (silicon carbide) and should not be used on HSS or any steel, because they will crumble away. Green wheels are for grinding carbide and non-ferrous metals.

JohnHC,

I have a 80 grit white alum. oxid. on one side and a gray 40-60 grit on the other side for roughing in. I belive the green wheels are for carbide.

JIm Geib
Mansfield, Oh

Is going on a 6" Balder grider no coolant. Just trying to learn how sharpen HSS tool bit for a small lathe. Thanks for the help..

We use 46 and 60 grit wheels for roughing and 60 or 80 grit for finishing on the hand grinders. Don't use green wheels for steel, they are to soft.

Mike

White : For grinding of most types of steel.
Pink : For grinding High speed & High chrome
steel.
Grey/Purple : For grinding all kinds of tool
steel, & Vanadium alloys.
Blue : For grinding HSS over 55RC, Stainless.
Green : For grinding Carbide & Non metalic
materials of high hardness.
Diamond : Are a girls best friend....

all correct but me

Abrasive Types
Guidelines for Grinding Steel

3SGP, 5SG— Blue ceramic aluminum oxide. Most durable, for moderate to very heavy stock removal on even tough-to-cut tool steels. 3SG Style is an economical blend. 5SG Style is the highest performance blend.